How Many Percy Jackson Books Are There?

Do you love adventure, mythology, and action? If so, the Percy Jackson series is perfect for you! There are three series in the Percy Jackson fictional universe, and each book is filled with excitement and suspense.

There are five Percy Jackson books and ten additional books written in the same universe, plus several additional related titles. All of these were written by Rick Riordan and released between the years of 2005 and 2020.

In this article, we’ll discuss all of the books in the Percy Jackson series as well as related works. We’ll also provide a handy reading order to make sure you experience the books in the correct order.

What Books Are in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series?

The first series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, contains five books released between 2005 and 2009.

The books in the series are:

  • The Lightning Thief
  • The Sea of Monsters
  • The Titan’s Curse
  • The Battle of the Labyrinth
  • The Last Olympian

Percy Jackson and the Olympians tells the story of Percy Jackson, a young demigod. He must stop Hades from taking over Olympus. Along with his friends Annabeth Chase and Grover Underwood, Percy travels across America in order to find Zeus’ master lightning bolt and save his father Poseidon from imprisonment.

Following the conclusion of The Last Olympian, author Rick Riordan further expanded the fictional universe with two follow-up series which do not bear the Percy Jackson title. Instead, these are known as the Heroes of Olympus and the Trials of Apollo series, respectively.

What Books Are in the Heroes of Olympus Series?

After completing the first series, author Rick Riordan decided to write another five-book series following some of the characters from Percy Jackson and the Olympians. This series is known as Heroes of Olympus and was released between 2010 and 2014.

The books in this series are:

  • The Lost Hero
  • The Son of Neptune
  • The Mark of Athena
  • The House of Hades
  • The Blood of Olympus

Heroes Of Olympus follows some familiar characters, such as Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Piper McLean, Leo Valdez, and a host of new demigods introduced in the first book. The group must work together to defeat the earth goddess Gaea and prevent the resurrection of her son, Gaia.

What Books Are in the Trials of Apollo Series?

For his next series, Rick Riordan decided to focus on a character from Greek mythology who hadn’t been explored before: Apollo. While technically still a part of the Percy Jackson universe, this series takes place during modern times and doesn’t feature any characters from previous books besides Apollo himself and some demigods he meets along his journey.

This series is known as The Trials of Apollo and contains three books released between 2016 and 2020:

  • The Hidden Oracle
  • The Dark Prophecy
  • The Burning Maze
  • The Tyrant’s Tomb
  • The Tower of Nero

Alongside the three main series of pentalogies, the world has been further expanded under the Camp Half-Blood Chronicles franchise. The franchise contains additional short stories, companion books, and crossovers with Rick Riordan’s other novels, The Kane Chronicles, Magnus Chase, and The Gods of Asgard.

  • The Demigod Diaries: A short story collection released in 2012 following demigods across America. The audiobook features performances by celebrities such as Logan Lerman (Percy Jackson), Brandon T. Jackson (Grover Underwood), and Alexandra Daddario (Annabeth Chase), reprising their roles from the 2010 live-action film.
  • The Lost Hero Graphic Novel:A graphic novel adaptation of the first book in the Heroes of Olympus series was released in 2013. It contains illustrations by Robert Venditti and maps by Andrew Simonet.
  • The Demigod Files: A companion book to The Demigod Diaries contains short stories, interviews, and artwork related to the Percy Jackson series. Released in 2009.
  • Percy Jackson’s Camp Half-Blood Confidential: A companion book to Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods, which delves into the making of the graphic novel adaptation and includes concept art, sketches, and interviews with the cast and crew.
  • The Son of Sobek: A crossover short story in which Percy Jackson and Carter Kane (Kane Chronicles) team up to fight a giant crocodile monster. Released as part of the Demigod Diaries collection. Percy and Carter would team up once again as part of the Demigods and Magicians series.
  • Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods: A companion book to the series released in 2014 focusing on Greek mythology with artwork by John Rocco, an illustrator who has collaborated with Rick Riordan before.
  • The Ultimate Guide to Percy Jackson and the Olympians: A reference guide was released in 2009, including character profiles, creature descriptions, maps, and more.

Percy Jackson in Other Media

In addition to the books, Percy Jackson has also been adapted into a movie series and graphic novel. The first film, Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief, was released in 2010 and was followed by one sequel: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters in 2013. Development started on a third film in the series, but it was eventually canceled.

Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief made its way to Nintendo as a 2010 video game for the Nintendo DS based on the film of the same name. It was developed by Stormfront Studios and published by THQ. The game was released on February 5, 2010, in North America.

A musical version of the first novel made its way to the off-broadway theatre in 2014. The show was produced by the Lucille Lortel Theatre in New York City. The show has gone on to perform on Broadway and a National Tour.


The Percy Jackson series is a fantastic, educational adventure for young readers looking to dive into Greek mythology. Not only do the stories teach about different myths and legends, but it teaches valuable lessons about friendship, family, working together with others, overcoming adversity, and more.

Percy’s adventures will keep you entertained from start to finish. And if you want even more mythology, check out The Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard series for a dive into Norse history.


Recent Posts Protection Status