What Order Should You Read The Wings of Fire?

Getting into a new book series can be fun. However, figuring out what order to read the books can be challenging. Take the Wings of Fire books, for example; what order should you read them?

As of 2022, there are 15 books in the Wings of Fire series, comprising three primary story arcs. The correct reading order for the books is as follows:

  1. The five books of the Dragonet Prophecy Series
  2. The five books of the Jade Mountain Prophecy Series
  3. The five books of the Lost Continent Series

This article will explore these three story arcs in greater detail. 

This blog post contains affiliate links

1. The Five Books of the Dragonet Prophecy Series

The Dragonet Prophecy story arc includes the first five Wings of Fire books. The first one, The Dragonet Prophecy, was published in 2012. 

The Dragonet Prophecy

Goodreads rating: 4.25

The Dragonet Prophecy has nearly 5,000 reviews on Amazon, with an average of 4.8 out of 5 stars. Like all the Wings of Fire books, it’s a middle-grade fantasy novel about dragons. 

In this book, five dragonets (young dragons) are supposed to fulfill a powerful prophecy that will bring peace to the land. The dragonets have other ideas, though. They escape the cave where the elders brought them and try to find their way home. Of course, that’s when all the action begins.

This story is told from the point of view of one of the dragonets, Clay, and primarily tells his story. (Though it fits into the larger overall tale, as all these books do.)

The Lost Heir

Goodreads rating: 4.49

The second book in the first story arc follows the story of Tsunami, a dragonet, and heir to the SeaWing throne. This book places dragons somewhere you don’t often find them – under the sea! It’s an interesting new take on the mythology of dragons and has an even higher rating on Goodreads than the series’ first book.

The Hidden Kingdom

Goodreads rating: 4.56

The Hidden Kingdom leaves the sea behind and heads to the beautiful, lush rainforest. This book features Glory, one of the five main dragonets from the first book, as the main character. In it, she seeks to change the way people look at her particular tribe of dragons.

The Dark Secret

Goodreads rating: 4.47

Of all the Wings of Fire books, this one is my favorite. Told from the point of view of the NightWing dragonet, Starflight, it’s a wonderful tale of having to choose between one’s family (tribe) and friends. 

Starflight has always been intelligent, but he’s not the bravest of the five dragonets of destiny. This book gives him the chance to be both.

The Brightest Night

Goodreads rating: 4.61

The final book in the first Wings of Fire story arc features Sunny as the narrator. In it, the five dragonets finally decide to fulfill the prophecy and end the war between the dragon tribes. Of course, ending a war is always easier said than done.

2. The Five Books of the Jade Mountain Prophecy Series

In the second Wings of Fire story arc, the original five dragonets have brought peace to Pyrrhia. They have re-established the Jade Mountain Academy so that dragons from all over can come together. Here, they’ll study, become friends, and hopefully guard against the possibility of another war. 

However, there’s a new prophecy that says something will bring Jade Mountain crashing down, and there are five new dragonets who will stop it from happening.

Moon Rising

Goodreads rating: 4.64

The protagonist of this story is Moonwatcher of the NightWing tribe. She’s the first dragon in many years to have the legendary mind-reading and future-predicting abilities of the NightWings. And she doesn’t know how to deal with that. 

Winter Turning

Goodreads rating: 4.56

This book follows Winter, the “family disappointment” of the IceWing clan. He and his sister are at Jade Mountain Academy, but eventually, his sister runs away. Of course, it’s up to Winter to find her and bring her home. His new friends from school decide to go along with him. 

Escaping Peril

Goodreads rating: 4.57

Much like the fourth book in the first story arc, Escaping Peril is about choosing between friends and tribe and deciding where your loyalties lie. It’s also about deciding between what’s right and what’s easy. Told from the point of view of Peril, it’s probably one of the most action-packed of all the Wings of Fire books.

Talons of Power

Goodreads rating: 4.58

Talons of Power follows Turtle, a major character in Escaping Peril. Turtle is quiet, shy, reserved, and no one’s definition of a hero. However, when the evil Darkstalker returns to Pyrrhia, he might have to step up and become one. But can he? Or is he too used to fading into the shadows and being a supporting character in other dragons’ stories?

Darkness of Dragons

Goodreads rating: 4.61

Quibli and the other dragonets decide to stop Darkstalker and complete the prophecy once and for all, but it’s not a task that’s easily undertaken. 

Darkness of Dragons is the final book in the second Wings of Fire story arc, published in 2017. It continues to be one of the most popular books in the series, with a 4.9 out of 5 stars rating on Amazon and over 5,000 mostly favorable reviews.

3. The Five Books of the Lost Continent Series

As of 2022, The Lost Continent series is the final installation of the Wings of Fire books. Like the other two arcs, it contains five books.

The Lost Continent

Goodreads rating: 4.56

By now, you’ve probably caught on. This first book in the third arc comes with a new prophecy and new dragonets. The narrator for this story is Blue, a SilkWing. He lives a peaceful, uneventful life until the day his sister goes through her metamorphosis. Then, everything changes.

The Hive Queen

Goodreads rating: 4.56

The Hive Queen features Cricket, Blue, Swordtail, and Sundew. Cricket is the only dragon in the hive that the Queen Wasp can’t control, and she has no idea what that means. When everyone else is under the queen’s control, Cricket hides. Of course, at this point, they’re all hiding because they’ve stolen a very important book.

The Poison Jungle

Goodreads rating: 4.36

As this book’s title would imply, the setting for The Poison Jungle takes place in a poisoned jungle. The narrator is Sundew, who is seeking revenge for the decimation of her people. However, there are secrets in the jungle that even she didn’t know about, and they just might change everything for her.

The Dangerous Gift

Goodreads rating: 4.56

The Dangerous Gift follows Snowfall, the youngest Queen dragon to ever rule over the IceWings. Her one goal in life is to be the best possible queen, but when strange refugee dragons show up, she has to risk everything to be the dragon she wants to be.

The Flames of Hope

Goodreads rating: 4.5

The exciting thing about The Flames of Hope is that it’s no longer just the dragon lands in trouble. Instead, humankind is on the line, as well. The narrator for this story, Luna, thinks it’s her job to save everyone – humans and dragons alike. But can she do it?

Other Books in the Wings of Fire Series

Aside from these main 15 books, there are also four short stories:

  • Prisoners
  • Assassin
  • Deserter 
  • Runaway 

There are also two books in the Legends series, which are sort of like Wings of Fire history books. These are Darkstalker and Dragonslayer.

Furthermore, the five books in the original Dragonet Prophecy arc have also been turned into graphic novels. That should give you plenty of Wings of Fire material to dive into! Happy reading!

Recent Posts

DMCA.com Protection Status